Skip to content

Our  Board & Team

The Australian Business Events Association Board consists of some of the most respected leaders in our industry. They give their time voluntarily and work hard to deliver for the sector.

The inaugural board was formed from existing directors of the merged associations. Initially they formed the Project Delivery Group which led the work to form the new association.

The board members are committed to a fixed term. New directors are appointed through an election process in accordance with the constitution. The final Board will be made up of eleven people.

Peter King

Chair of the Board

Peter King has a diverse and extensive professional background having spent 20 years leading multi-national businesses across the Asia Pacific region for consumer brands including Puma, Coleman and Sunbeam.

Board Members

Samantha Glass

Director of Corporate Affairs, Communication and Sustainability, ICC Sydney

Penny Lion

Non-Executive Director, Racing SA and Adelaide Venue Management Corporation (AVMC), Clare Valley Wine & Grape Association

Dr Leo Jago OAM

Director, Tourism and Business Events International

Peter King

Chair of the Board

Nicole Walker

Managing Director, Arinex

Matt Pearce

Deputy Chair & CEO, Talk2 Media & Events

Julia Swanson

Chief Executive Officer, MCB

Nigel Keen

General Manager, Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre (PCEC)

Michael Matthews

CEO, Canberra Convention Bureau

Team Members

Melissa Brown

Chief Executive Officer

Domenic Genua

Chief Operating Officer

Maeve Thomas

Membership & Sponsorship Manager

Annabelle Robb

Project & Services Manager

Karina Hall

Member Services & Admin